Move the Suffering

Pinned Image“That’s when you really need to just do it…You’ll feel better after going…Oh that’s the best medicine, you’ll feel such a release”  These are the tapes that play when contemplating blowing off a yoga practice because I feel like parking myself with a book and a glass of wine instead.  The therapy that lies in a good practice, with a marvelous community, led by an inspirational woman goes far beyond breath and stretch.  I forced myself out of the door this evening knowing at the last minute that had I chosen to stay home, my sleep would have been affected as well as my waking moments stiff and sore come tomorrow.  It is important to know what our bodies and minds need but there are definitely times, I admit, what we do need is the couch, wine, tea, snacks!  I will leave readers with a wonderful excerpt from, A Year of Living Your Yoga by Judith Hanson Lasater, PH. D., P.T.

Yoga practice allows the pain that is already in us to be experienced.  Living your yoga:  When you practice your poses today, do not think of the gentle discomfort you feel as a problem.  Remember that the tightness in your muscles is just your suffering trying to get out.

2 Comments

  1. I wrote a similar post today – too funny! Glad I found your blog, I look forward to reading more.

  2. So true! Thanks for the gentle reminder about how a consistant practice really makes all the difference!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 104 other followers

